A Dad’s Dream

If you are a father and a dog parent, it doesn’t get any better than this.  I love how my son, Isaac, is enjoying the food puzzle toy as much as my dog, Hazel, does.  Even better, I love that Hazel is being patient, respectful of Isaac’s space, and totally NON-possessive.  After all, this is her breakfast, and he did pick it up off the floor where she had it first.  You could understand if she tried to be a little more controlling in such a situation.  But she’s super chill.

Hazel is 8-months-old and I just adopted her from a shelter last week.  So I wasn’t the one who raised her during early puppyhood.  But, I’m SO THANKFUL to the family that did.  All I know is they had kids.  I’m willing to bet that the lovely scene in the video is a result of positive social experiences with children when Hazel was very, very young.

The tag-team breakfast game went on for a while, with Isaac intermittently shaking the toy and picking up kibble to feed Hazel.  It was a beautiful, peaceful, joyful interaction.  My first time as a dad experiencing kids and dogs in this way.  Wow.  Made my day.

~

Share this story:

Bookmark and Share

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “A Dad’s Dream”

  1. Kathy Colaiacovo Says:

    Sooo cool to have a helper for this toy – makes it much easier to use!

    Thanks for sharing!

  2. shubha chick Says:

    Awwww…I love love love your new girl… So cute, so great – terrific little video David! I’m forwarding it to all my new dog/new parent clients! Small child = good stuff. It’s perfect…30 seconds, no explanation needed!!!!!

  3. Bubbe Says:

    You know I love this video! It shows how gentle Hazel is and how adorable Isaac is. It looks like the beginning of a beautiful friendship.

Leave a Reply

